Food blogs: my top picks of 2014

Chewy Chocolate Chunk Cookies from Sally's Baking Addiction
Chewy Chocolate Chunk Cookies from Sally’s Baking Addiction

I know it’s not December yet, but with the temperature dropping and the days getting shorter, I can’t help thinking about the end of 2014. For some reason, the passage of another year always has me wanting to make lists: best trips, top restaurant meals, happiest memories. Because I now author a food blog, I’m thinking about my fondest memories in the kitchen. Here are my three favourite food blogs of the year that gave me some wonderful culinary memories:

1. Sally’s Baking Addiction: As a die-hard baker, this blog fills my heart with joy. For sweet, buttery, chocolate-filled delights from the oven, I look no further than this inspiring site! My top pick are her Chewy Chocolate Chunk Cookies.

2. Budget Bytes: My friend Gillian introduced me to this student-friendly blog stock with easy-to-make, inexpensive and tasty recipes. This blog can help you enjoy healthy and hearty food at home when you’re short on dough. My favourite recipe is her Chunky Lentil and Vegetable Soup, great for a simple weeknight dinner or school lunch.

3. Minimalist Baker: Incredible food photography and creativity go into the beautiful, vegan dishes that Dana Shultz whips up. Check out her site too for food blogging tips and even a food photography course! Her Sweet Potato Pie Oats make an insanely satisfying cold weather breakfast.

Leave a Reply

