Some lovin’ from my oven

Hearty sweet potato scones (adapted from browneyedbaker)
Hearty sweet potato scones (adapted from Browneyedbaker)

Lately, I’ve been inspired by fall flavours. The colder weather and shorter days make me want to hunker down and eat warm, nourishing foods. I’ve seen beautiful autumnal gourds at the markets in my neighbourhood and have sampled the pumpkin-infused espresso drinks at my local coffee shops.

Wanting to get out of my breakfast rut, I’ve started baking scones. Slathered with butter and jam, they’re a perfect chilly morning meal or afternoon snack with tea.

I had some leftover sweet potato mash lying around, so I thought I’d work that into a baked good for a unique and healthy twist. After doing some research, I came across a recipe for Sweet Potato Scones with Maple Cream Glaze from Browneyedbaker. I adapted the recipe slightly, adding toasted pecans and golden raisins to the dough for extra texture. They are pretty addictive but have the goodness of sweet potato in them. They’re the epitome of October flavours!

Leave a Reply

