FMTO’s Pick of the Week: Stasis Preserves

 

Nothing like an oozy grilled cheese!

Who doesn’t love a good grilled cheese sandwich?

Tasty and comforting, they’re an easy weeknight dinner with a green salad or soup. Over the years, I’ve made them with everything from brie to goat cheese and stuffed with the likes of roasted vegetables, guacamole and bacon. But my all-time favourite recipe of all is the classic: thick, white country-style bread and sharp orange cheddar. So simple, yet it hits the spot every time.

Recently, I’ve kicked my beloved sandwich up a notch with a new ingredient from a unique Toronto source.

This past winter, I discovered Stasis Preserves while walking around Roncesvalles Village. Frozen to the bone, I entered the small shop seeking some respite from the cold. To my delight, I found shelves stacked with local artisanal food products including preserves, crackers and baked goods. My first purchase was their Ontario Strawberry & Rhubarb Spread. I devoured it on croissants, toast and pancakes and I don’t think it lasted more than a few weeks in my fridge.

More recently, I bought their incredible  Ontario Caramelized Onion Spread. Sweet and silky, it’s my new go-to sandwich condiment and is especially heavenly on a grilled cheese. I’ve also spooned it on top of burger patties and used it as a simple glaze for chicken breasts.

If you’re looking to liven up your pantry with some fantastic, locally sourced ingredients, make sure to check out Stasis Preserves at 476 Roncesvalles Ave. They also sell products at a number of independent food shops in Toronto. Check out their website here and spread the love!

At $7.95/jar, it's worth every penny!
At $7.95, a jar is worth every penny
Leave a Reply

